Office of Student Life

Disability Services

Annual Awards


Disability Services honors exemplary faculty, staff, and students with our annual awards. This initiative highlights the efforts of our university community to create access and inclusion on campus. 

Navigation Links:

The Outstanding Student Advocate Award

Established in 2017, the Outstanding Student Advocate Award is presented to an Ohio State student (undergraduate, graduate or professional) who has been an exemplary advocate for disability access and inclusion. Nominations may come from any student, faculty or staff member.

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2022 - Shea Daley
  • 2021 - Kayden Gill (undergraduate) and Antonio (Joey) Ferraro (graduate)
  • 2020 - Meredith Kromalic (undergraduate) and Shannon Thacker Cregg (graduate)
  • 2019 - Jen Schlegel
  • 2018 - Lauren Sabo
  • 2017 - Amanda Hostetter

The Celena Irby Award

The Celena Irby Award is presented to a student employee of Student Life Disability Services (SLDS) who has demonstrated a positive attitude, given exemplary assistance and provided dedicated service to students with disabilities. Nominations may come from any student served by Disability Services, Disability Services student employee or Disability Services staff member. No more than one nomination per person will be accepted (i.e., one person cannot nominate several individuals).

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2022 - Fakhtah Abdulla, Bridget O'Boyle, Marry Harris, Raina Rindani, Prarthana Singh, Abby Shuster, Nautica Vance
  • 2021 - Elizabeth Bergmann, Alyssa Douzos, Sarah Chopko, Lauryn Wolverton, Caroline Fitzpatrick, Ben Golik 
  • 2020 - N/A
  • 2019 - Kylee Snoke, Leia Miller, Kassie Kudler, Kelly Struhar
  • 2018 - Kyla Sharp, Agustina de Leon, Samantha Buck, and Darryl Wright
  • 2017 - Amanda Brown, Brenna Farrar, Jessica Fenton, Alden Gardiner, Melissa Millward, Aine Mooney, Emily Panzero, Anna Shaw, Annie Song, Heather Wallingford
  • 2016 - Jessica Beers, Carly Gurka, Dominique Harbaugh, Katherine Knapke, Paul Kraemer, Samantha Stehlik
  • 2015 – Aniello R. Miele, Madeline Schloss, Taylor D. Stevens
  • 2014 – Austin Drenski, Rachael Kincaid, Dominique Holzer, Akshay Paropkari, Rebecca Yoc
  • 2013 - Nicole D’Aliberti, Maggie Reading, Lucas Rodriguez
  • 2012 – Katie Ballinger, Joe Huddle, Jason Khavaran, Akshay Paropkari, Katie Novak
  • 2011 – Emily Grace, Allison Pistolessi, Danielle Barnett & Sarah Novak
  • 2010 – Ross Antonacci, Julie Babyak, Molly Besancon, Lisa Khavaran, Ali Jiraki, Hariny Kuttuva, and Julianne Wolf

The Dick Maxwell Award

The award is presented to a staff or faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution to a student with a disability or to Disability Services. All full-time or part-time faculty and staff members at The Ohio State University are eligible to receive this award. Any student, faculty or staff can nominate a person or department for this award. All nominations must include a completed nomination form and a nomination statement (2 pages maximum). You may also submit your nomination statement in the form of an audiotape. The nominating statement should include specific examples of the contributions that the nominee has made.

The award recipient will be selected for the following kinds of contributions:

  • Significantly improving or enhancing the quality of the higher education experience in ways that make a substantial difference for a student with a disability.
  • Contributing to outstanding and sustained improvement in the services provided by Disability Services, or their department with respect to students with disabilities.

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2022 - Mollie Workman
  • 2021 - Julie Prince
  • 2020 - Sarah Steenrod
  • 2019 - Michelle McGregor
  • 2018 - Arthur Burghes
  • 2017 - Toni Greenslade-Smith
  • 2016 - Mark Foster
  • 2015 – Lisa Cravens-Brown
  • 2014 – Sarah Terry
  • 2013 – Connie S. Zang
  • 2012 – Dr. Cynthia Bronson
  • 2011 – Dr. Christopher Anderson
  • 2010 – John Cronin

The Patricia M. Carlton Award

The Patricia M. Carlton award is to honor a non-traditional student who has shown achievement academically while balancing a career and family life, or who is returning to school for the first time/after time away. This award is in recognition of the unique challenges an adult learner with a disability faces.

Previous Award Recipients:

  • 2021 - Ryann Patrus
  • 2020 - No recipient
  • 2019 - No recipient
  • 2018 - Mark Capehart
  • 2017 - Joe Rice
  • 2016 - D'Shahn Coleman
  • 2015 – James McCoy
  • 2014 – Taras (Orlando) Williams
  • 2013 – Kimberly Clarke
  • 2012 – Jane Broud, Jeff Kohler
  • 2011 – Terry Ellis, Maria Lee, & Christine Szostak
  • 2010 – Chongmin Lee & Alicia Atkins