Office of Student Life

Disability Services

End-of-Year Recognitions

Disability Services honors exemplary faculty, staff, and students every spring semester with our annual recognition. This initiative highlights the efforts of our university community to create access and inclusion on campus. 

The Outstanding Student Advocate Award

The Outstanding Student Advocate Award is presented to an Ohio State student (undergraduate, graduate or professional) who has been an exemplary advocate for disability access and inclusion. Nominations may come from any student, faculty or staff member. This award was created in 2017 to recognize the outstanding contributions of SLDS's three-year Student Veteran Advocate, Amanda Hostetter.

Previous Award Recipients:

2019 - Jen Schlegel

2017 - Amanda Hostetter

The Celena Irby Award

The Celena Irby Award is presented to a student employee of Student Life Disability Services (SLDS) who has demonstrated a positive attitude, given exemplary assistance and provided dedicated service to students with disabilities. Nominations may come from any student served by Disability Services, Disability Services student employee or Disability Services staff member. No more than one nomination per person will be accepted (i.e., one person cannot nominate several individuals).

Previous Award Recipients:

2019 - Kylee Snoke, Leia Miller, Kassie Kudler, Kelly Struhar

2018 - Kyla Sharp, Agustina de Leon, Samantha Buck, and Darryl Wright

2017 - Amanda Brown, Brenna Farrar, Jessica Fenton, Alden Gardiner, Melissa Millward, Aine Mooney, Emily Panzero, Anna Shaw, Annie Song, Heather Wallingford

2016 - Jessica Beers, Carly Gurka, Dominique Harbaugh, Katherine Knapke, Paul Kraemer, Samantha Stehlik

2015 – Aniello R. Miele, Madeline Schloss, Taylor D. Stevens

2014 – Austin Drenski, Rachael Kincaid, Dominique Holzer, Akshay Paropkari, Rebecca Yoc

2013 - Nicole D’Aliberti, Maggie Reading, Lucas Rodriguez

2012 – Katie Ballinger, Joe Huddle, Jason Khavaran, Akshay Paropkari, Katie Novak

2011 – Emily Grace, Allison Pistolessi, Danielle Barnett & Sarah Novak

2010 – Ross Antonacci, Julie Babyak, Molly Besancon, Lisa Khavaran, Ali Jiraki, Hariny Kuttuva, and Julianne Wolf

Back To Top of Page

The Dick Maxwell Award

The award is presented to a staff or faculty member who has made an outstanding contribution to a student with a disability or to Disability Services. All full-time or part-time faculty and staff members at The Ohio State University are eligible to receive this award. Any student, faculty or staff can nominate a person or department for this award. All nominations must include a completed nomination form and a nomination statement (2 pages maximum). You may also submit your nomination statement in the form of an audiotape. The nominating statement should include specific examples of the contributions that the nominee has made.

The award recipient will be selected for the following kinds of contributions:

  • Significantly improving or enhancing the quality of the higher education experience in ways that make a substantial difference for a student with a disability.
  • Contributing to outstanding and sustained improvement in the services provided by Disability Services, or their department with respect to students with disabilities.

Previous Award Recipients:

2019 - Michelle McGregor

2017 - Toni Greenslade-Smith

2016 - Mark Foster

2015 – Lisa Cravens-Brown

2014 – Sarah Terry

2013 – Connie S. Zang

2012 – Dr. Cynthia Bronson

2011 – Dr. Christopher Anderson

2010 – John Cronin

Back To Top of Page

The Patricia M. Carlton Award

The Patricia M. Carlton award is to honor a non-traditional student who has shown achievement academically while balancing a career and family life, or who is returning to school for the first time/after time away. This award is in recognition of the unique challenges an adult learner with a disability faces.

Previous Award Recipients:

2017 - Joe Rice

2016 - D'Shahn Coleman

2015 – James McCoy

2014 – Taras (Orlando) Williams

2013 – Kimberly Clarke

2012 – Jane Broud, Jeff Kohler

2011 – Terry Ellis, Maria Lee, & Christine Szostak

2010 – Chongmin Lee & Alicia Atkins

Back To Top of Page

Special Recognitions

Disability Services honors students, faculty, and staff members who positively contribute to the mission of the office through our Special Recognitions. Below is a list of this past year’s recipients.

2017 Special Recognitions:

Angela Abel, Dathan Alexander, Adam Andrews, Dr. Judit Bach, Dr. Jonathan Baker, Erika Bako, Melissa Beers, Karen Blessing, Dr. Cynthia Bronson, Megan Brown, Kate Butler, Dr. Christopher Callam, Colleen Chilton, James Clinkscale, Paula Cullen, Cindy Davis, Holly Davis, Dr. Michelle Everson, Stephanie Giese, LaShalle Harvey-Johnson, Brad Hefner, J. Randall Hicks, Amanda Hostetter, Jenn Irwin, Cecilia Johnson, Kelly Jordan, Jenny Kraft, Amy Kulesza, Ann Logan, Ryan Lovell, Kate McNeal, Kendyl Meadows, Claire Meeks, Matt Moore-Waitkus, Rufus Morgan, Jenna Patterson, Rebeca Patton, Dr. Noel Paul, Jeff Pelletier, Teena Poole, Richard "JR" Rathjens, Dr. Lori Rice, Casey Rinehart, Anne Schira, Dr. Marc Smith, Stacy Smith, Dr. Kristin Smock, Mike Stumpf, Dr. Todd Suddeth, Meika Travis, Larence Washington, Holly Wheaton, Lawrence Williamson, Paul Wojdacz, Dr. Michael Ziegler

Back To Top of Page